No Rules No Shame

May 29, 2009

Favorite Artists: Vik Muniz

Filed under: Favorite Artists, Genius, Hurrah funny art, Photography — norulesnoshame @ 03:53

I’m not really sure what to write about Vik Muniz, because I’ve seen him talk, and I’m pretty I’m still under the spell of his charm and wit. I can’t help loving the work. It’s just so fun and full of trickery. It’s like the art equivalent of a magic trick, and who doesn’t like magic? Am I right, gentlemen? [crickets]
For those of you unfamiliar with his art, his main way of working is to create a representation of something using surprising or unfamiliar materials. For example, he’s made images from sugar, cotton, garbage, toys, hole punched paper, chocolate, wire, thread, beans, spaghetti, etc. Then he takes a picture of it, and the picture is the final piece. My favorites are the caviar monsters and the diamond divas (click to enlarge!). I also love the cloud drawings (he hired a plane to make drawings in the sky of cartoon clouds), the earthworks, the toys… What can I say, it warms my ice cold heart.

Website: http://www.vikmuniz.net

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

