No Rules No Shame

July 8, 2009

Favorite Artists: Alice Neel

Filed under: Favorite Artists, Painting — norulesnoshame @ 10:30

As a former painter, I have a long and sordid history with painters I have previously loved and admired, who now only exist in books stuffed into the back of my shelves. There are, however, those that continue to spark my interest. While writing this, I realized I sounded like a teenager who stopped hanging out with her middle school best friend only to be bffs again later in life. Maybe I’ll love you again, Neo Rauch. Maybe. In any case, I have a soft spot for Alice Neel, who painted like she was drunk all her life (and who knows?). The paintings are loose, and the people are creepy. It’s a win-win for me. I especially like the ones of multiple people, even though the Warhol portrait is fantastic in its loneliness. Oh, and the first image is NSFW. She’s all out naked in that one.

Info: http://www.nmwa.org/collection/profile.asp?LinkID=630
Documentary: http://www.amazon.com/Alice-Neel-Documentary/dp/B0015XL7SK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1247063349&sr=8-1


aliceneel7

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

