No Rules No Shame

August 31, 2009

Heroes: Paul McCarthy

Filed under: Genius, Heroes, Performance, Sculpture, Video — corona @ 20:59

No, not the adorable yet overrated Beatle. That’s McCartney. This guy is totally different. This guy changed my life. FOREVER.

When I was first learning about Contemporary Art I was a skeptic for about 5 seconds. Then I saw Paul McCarthy’s work and nearly wet myself. It was disgust at first sight, and it made me love him wholeheartedly. I thought for a long time about whether I should devote a post to his work, considering that this site has so much to do with exposing new work that might be lost out there in the world wide web. I thought, McCarthy’s too famous. Everyone who loves the work we love already knows about him so what’s the point??? The point is, this site is about paying homage to what makes you love art so much you could never give it up. Ever.

For me, I find that I’m still infatuated with his work even after all these years. The grotesque mixed with comedy mixed with sadness and the sheer abjection of it all always make me feel comforted in some strange, messed up way.

Here’s an amazing clip from an older video, Painter:

My heart belongs to Paul.



Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

