No Rules No Shame

October 8, 2009

Steven Leyden Cochrane

Filed under: MICA, Painting, Sculpture — norulesnoshame @ 00:32

I know these are older, and Steven’s moved on to different things, but I really like this series. I have a soft spot in my heart for non-mass-produced toys. A lot of people probably do, especially ones who consider themselves on the left/cultured/aware side of the world (the artists/hipsters). Don’t get me wrong, I’m attracted to the Barbie mobile and the Nintendo cartridge too, but I grew up with wooden spoons wearing kitchen towels for dresses, and I have a deep understanding for handmade toys. In addition, these are somewhat eerie, like they have lives of their own, dark lives. The paintings are even creepier.

More at website

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

